New Year’s Resolutions

Writing these down for posterity and accountability.

  • Find a new job
  • Make new friends
  • Open up more to the friends I have
  • Volunteer
  • Blog more
  • Journal more

Behind all of those is a sort of deeper resolution. When I do things it feels like I don’t really pay attention to what I’m doing. For example, when I read a book, a lot of the time it feels like I’m not getting everything I can from the book. I get the general picture, but not really the fine details or the little subtleties.

Another example would be figuring out what I’m doing wrong when I do something wrong. I need to pay attention to do that, and now it feels like I often ask myself “what just happened” rather than “how should I go about that differently.”

So my measure of success is to be more successful at being introspective. Out of all the goals I set above, the ones I want most is a new job and new friends and to open up more. The are stuff I’ve been wanting to do. This time if (when) I fail, I’ll try and figure out why.

Leave a Reply

