Pyramids – Terry Pratchett

I finished Pyramids last week, and I enjoyed it very much. Then again, I’m not sure I’ve read a satiric novel that I haven’t enjoyed. It’s funny, thought-provoking, and it has some neat lines:

No one is more worried by the actual physical manifestation of a god than his priests; it’s like having the auditors in unexpectedly.

 

And now, when his kingdom needed him, the words of a Ritual had scored themselves into the pathways of his brain and bewildered all attempts at thought.

“Er,” he said.

There are other neat quotes about religion in the book somewhere, but I can’t find them at the moment.

I think Mort and Equal Rites are my favorite Discworld novels so far, but I’m not very far in.

Leave a Reply

